‘Learning’

‘During those first months (of L’Arche), I learned a great deal. I was beginning to discover the immense amounts of pain hidden in the hearts of Raphael, Phillippe, and so many of their brothers and sisters. I sensed how their hearts had been broken by rejection, abandonnment, and lack of respect. At the same time I was beginning to discover some of the beauty and tenderness of their hearts, their capacity for communion and tenderness. I was beginning to sense how living with them could transform me….’

Jean Vanier, Essential Writings,  32

Leave a Reply

